ZIP Proposal

To what extent does the point of view of a story affect the emotion induced? 

What would you like to learn to do/ what question would you like to pursue in your inquiry? Why did you choose this skill/ question? What motivates or excites you in pursuing this line of inquiry? 

I would like to research the effect of the point of view used in a short story. For example, will a first-person perspective feel more personal and therefore induce more emotion? Or will third-person with perspectives into more characters’ minds be better? As a whole, I would like to learn to use points of view more effectively and to figure out which point of view works best for the type of story I’m writing. I chose this because I like writing stories and I would like to improve my skills as much as I can.  

What do you currently know about this topic/ skill, and what skills do you currently have that will help you succeed in your work? 

I have written part of a longer story/novel before, and even though I wasn’t able to finish it, I can use the skills I learned. As well, we have focused on descriptive writing in English, so that will help me when writing an emotional story. I like to read so I can see what works well and what doesn’t. I will use all of these to help me have a better leaning experience. 

What is a specific list of skills that you hope to have expanded on/ learned by the end of this assignment? 

  • Expanding vocabulary to be able to use more effective words  
  • Inducing emotion through my writing 
  • Creating an effective plot, characters, and setting 
  • Using point of view effectively 
  • For first-person: 
  • Showing characters’ feelings and emotions through my writing 
  • For third-person: 
  • Keeping track of several characters at once and still writing equally for each character’s “story” 

Who can you approach (beyond Mr. Morris) for support during your work/ research? 

I can talk to my classmates who are also doing creative writing for ideas and help, as well as my family for proof-reading and help when writing. This is a project where I would like to mostly learn by doing rather than by research, so I think that other than proof-reading, I will not need much help. 

What are some other resources that might be useful in helping you complete your inquiry? 

I would like to research a little bit about short story writing in general and more specifically on how to use different points of view before I start writing my two stories. I will most likely do all this online/digitally. As I mentioned before, I’m not planning on researching too much and would rather jump straight into writing the stories themselves. 

How might you demonstrate your learning at the end of your inquiry? What format or form (essay, in-class lesson, audio/video production, Pecha Kucha, artistic representation) might you use to highlight your work? 

 I would like to write two short stories, both following the same characters, plot, setting, etc. but written from different perspectives. I would like to determine which story induces more emotion and then get people to read that story when they visit my station. I will give the rest of my information verbally. 

What is your schedule for learning? Include a calendar with a tentative plan as to how you will use your time both in and out of class. 

Jan 7th  Finish proposal 
Jan 8th, 9th  Research the use of different points of view 
Jan 10th Create plot, characters, setting for story 
Jan 11th, 12th, 13th  Away in Edmonton 
Jan 14th, 15th, 16th    Write draft for 1st person story 
Jan 17th, 18th  Edit 1st person story 
Jan 19th, 20th, 21th  Write draft for 3rd person story 
Jan 22th, 23st Edit 3rd person story 
Jan 24nd, 25rd Write final copy for both pieces of writing 
Jan 26th, 27th Assess writing and create presentation 
Jan 27th  Completely finish + print everything 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started